What I’ve Learned From Collecting

 

glass-730574_1920Image by:  StillWorksImagery via Pixabay

I have collected many items throughout the years.  As a kid it was baseball cards, comic books, Atari games, records, cassette tapes and sheet music to name a few. When I moved into adulthood it became DVD’s, MP3’s, recipes, Hallmark ornaments and now I’m into vintage barware, Corning ware and Tupperware.  If you say to yourself, “I’ve never really collected anything” think again.  You’ll be surprised at the things you probably collected without really even knowing it.  Have a good DVD library, that’s a collection.  Have a great selection of shoes, that’s a collection.  How many cookbooks do you have stored in the closet?  Guess what, that’s a collection.  What really makes a collection a passion or hobby is the use of the collection and that is what I’m going to talk about today.

Back in the early 90’s I went through a phase where I was a DJ.  I had an awesome collection.  Mostly, record albums and 12″ singles.  I never really counted them, but lined up I’m sure it was an easy 15-20 feet long.  Since my collection was used everyday, my passion to find new music, new albums and find rare pieces of vinyl was what keep this collection alive.  However; when I was no longer doing DJ gigs, that passion changed. The collection was no longer “alive”.  I believe many of the collections I had through the years ended the same way.  Once the collection is not longer used it just became something that I had and stored.  Rather than being an active collection, it was just hoarding.

My personal belief that the key to starting a successful collection and maintaining that collection is to ensure that it stays active and “alive”.  Many people tend to collect and they are afraid to utilize that collection.  It ends up in a box at the back of a closet viewed by no one.  I was chatting with one of my Spice of Life collector friends and I explained to her that I’m really ensuring that the items that I collect, I use.  I’m not allowing myself to collect something that I’m just going to end up storing as I could easily move into the “hoarding” side of collecting.  Now, I realize that hard to find collectibles and extremely rare one of a kind items are a different case, these are something that should be treasured and kept safe.

But in the end, something that you enjoy so much that you feel the need to collect, should be enjoyed and shared with others.  When I’m standing there trying to decide which glass I want to use from my Thorpe collection for happy hour, it makes that drink taste extra special and that’s when I realize…. it was all worth while!

Shop-Collect-Enjoy!

 

 

2 thoughts on “What I’ve Learned From Collecting”

Leave a Reply

