Cabbage Salad With Creamy Horseradish Dressing

 

image

I recently became addicted to the Fresh Express Southwest cabbage bagged salads that you can find at your local grocery story.  I loved this salad so much, I was finding myself spending a lot of money when I figured I could just make it myself.  I ending up making a cabbage salad that I think I like better and I’m here to share it with you. (And it also allows me to feature my vintage Tupperware servalier.)

Here’s what you’re going to need:

Ingredients

  • 6 cups chopped cabbage
  • 2 large celery stalks
  • 3 carrots
  • 3 green onions
  • 3 radishes
  • 1/2 chopped cilantro
  • 1/3-1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 1 tablespoon vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons sweetened condensed milk
  • 1-2 tablespoons of horseradish (depending on the level of heat you want to add)
  • 1 tablespoon milk
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

You first want to start by chopping up your cabbage.  I usually use a mixture of both green and red cabbage, but green cabbage was all I had on hand.  Corsely chop about 6 cups.

image

Next you’ll need to use your mandolin (or use your trusty knife) and chop your celery, carrots, green onions and radishes. Finely chop your cilantro and grab 1/3-1/2 cup of raisins.

image

Combine all ingredients and mix very well.  Next, we’ll move onto the dressing.

This dressing is something that I came up with after having a horseradish based coleslaw dressing in Northern California.  Most coleslaw dressings are made with mayo, sugar, vinegar and salt n pepper.  That’s fine for a traditional dressing, but mine kicks it up by using sweetened condensed milk.  Once you used sweetened condensed milk, you’ll never go back to making your dressing the old way- trust me!  Ok, let’s start:

Combine the mayonnaise, vinegar, horseradish, sweetened condensed milk, salt, pepper and milk.  Mix throughly until the consistency of a thick dressing.  Adjust any seasonings or liquids of the dressing to your liking.

image

I hope you enjoy this recipe.  If you have tried it, I would love to hear your feedback.  Feel free to share this with your friends via Facebook or Pinterest.

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

