Vintage Recipe 1977: Better Homes and Gardens- Sukiyaki

image

Sukiyaki.  I can honestly say I don’t think I have ever had it.  I love all types of Asian inspired foods,  so I’m not sure how or why I missed this.  I do love Sukiyaki the cover song in 1980 by The Taste Of Honey, but let me get back on track.

This recipe is featured in the Better Homes and Garden- Oriental cookbook circa 1977.

image

Here’s the actual recipe from the cookbook.

image

Ok… Let’s have some fun!  I’m going to start by partially freezing the top round steak. I’m thinking 30 minutes to 1 hour should be good.

While freezing the meat I chopped all the vegetables.

image

After 40 minutes meat is frozen enough to cut.  Lets start cooking!

image

Beef bouillon, sugar and soy sauce….done!

image

Sautéed bok choy, green onion and celery….done!

image

Next sautéed tofu, bean sprouts, water chestnuts and bamboo shoots. Combined all vegetables and meat and poured in sauce and cooked for 2 minutes.  Served with rice.

The Verdict:

The good:  Crunchy vegetables, tender meat, good with rice, good basic seasoning.

The bad: Needs additional seasoning to enhance flavors, not very authentic.

Total rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

